Creativity in Micro Moments: Cotton Dishcloths

Hey everyone!

I’m a mom now. I know, hard to believe. I’m still adjusting to the fact. If I struggled before with trying to carve out creative time, I’m really struggling now. Most of my time is spent with l’enfant…and she’s usually attached to my milk suppliers. I end up on the couch a lot and not in my art room. What can I do for these 15-20 minute stretches? I’ll tell you what: cotton dishcloths! You can make them as easy or as complicated as you’d like.

Randoms and baby November 2013 008

I first started off with creating my own pattern using seed stitch ( which is simply plain, purl, plain purl etc. and then offset on the next row) and then crocheting a border around the edge with coloured cotton yarn. The cotton yarn is “Sugar’n Cream” and can be found at any craft store like Michael’s etc.

Randoms and baby November 2013 011

 

The large one here is 44 stitches across using needle size us 10 ( 6.0 mm) which is oversized for the yarn.

The small one is 30 stitches using needle size us 9 ( 5.5mm)

Just knit until it looks square…or quite frankly, whatever shape you want; long and narrow, square, rectangular… you get the idea.

 

I laughed at the thought of needing a pattern to make a dishcloth, and I was partially right, you can go it alone. But there are some really neat patterns out there that are fun to do and quick. I’m easily bored, so having multiple ways to make an item is gold for me.

Here’s the first pattern I came across when googling “hand knit washcloths”

Randoms and baby November 2013 013Randoms and baby November 2013 014

 

Here’s the link: http://www.groupepp.com/dishbout/kpatterns/grfavorite.html

Super easy and super fun featuring the garter stitch but on the diagonal. I figure you can play around with the texture all you like once you get the general idea. I like the lacy-ish effect on the edges.

I had no idea what a world of dishcloths there truly was. I was talking to a knitting buddy of mine about what I was working on and she shared this amazing dishcloth design with me:

Randoms and baby November 2013 009Randoms and baby November 2013 010

 

It looks super complicated, but it is actually really easy and super satisfying. The only down side is that you have to sew the final edge together to join it in a circle…but it’s really not that bad, I just don’t like sewing all that much. Knitting it is a blast though, so I have a whole bunch that have been knit but not yet sewn…

I’ll type out the pattern here since I haven’t managed to find one on-line and it’s a toss-up whether it will take longer to search than to type!

I’ll call it “Circular Dishcloth”:

Use cotton yarn. Gage is not important. I like to use size us 7( 4.5mm)

Cast on 15 stitches

Row 1: Knit across to end and turn

2: K3, yo (yarn over), K across to the last stitch, leave last st. on left needle turn and knit to end.

3: K3, yo, K across to the last 2 stitches, leave 2 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

4: K3, yo, K across to the last 3 stitches, leave 3 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

5: Cast off 3 sts. k to  last 4 sts. leave 4 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

 

6: K3, yo, K across to the last 5 stitches, leave 5 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

7: K3, yo, K across to the last 6 stitches, leave 6 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

8: K3, yo, K across to the last 7 stitches, leave 7 sts. on left needle turn and knit to end.

9: Cast off 3 sts. k to  last 8 sts. leave 8 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

 

10: K3, yo, K across to the last 9 stitches, leave 9 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

11: K3, yo, K across to the last 10 stitches, leave 10 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

12: K3, yo, K across to the last 11 stitches, leave 11 sts. on left needle, turn and knit to end.

13: Cast off 3 sts., knit to the end

Start over with row 1, do these 6 more times.

When you have 7 of these done, on the 13th row, cast off all the way across. Sew all around the circle and then up the side.

 

And there you have it. Simple projects for finite amounts of time. Easy to set down and re-start. Please feel free to share any neat dishcloth patterns you might have!

 

Lynsker

Leave a Reply

